Change language
  • Facebook
  • DeviantArt
  • Tumblr
  • Instagram
  • YouTube

Neuschwanstein

It's no coincidence that this place is called Neuschwanstein. King Ludwig II himself acted through Palando to transfer his famous castle to the Kingdom of Minevaria. In honor of the Kini (bav. "king"), the subway station is particularly magnificent and you'll be welcomed by a triumphal arch – the Ludwigstor – if you approach the small village between Gratlingen and Hefenberg from the west.

Neuschwanstein Castle

Neuschwanstein Castle is King Ludwig II's famous castle in the heart of the Bavarian region Allgäu and now as well in Minevaria. The replica was built with more than 300,000 marble blocks, 20,000 sandstone blocks, and about 40,000 cobblestone roof blocks. The original is visited by 1.3 million people per annum. It only reached the eighth place of the modern seven wonders of the world, but it can still be called the 8th world wonder.

To understand the origin, one has to address King Ludwig's circumstances: He surprisingly became the Bavarian monarch as young as 18 years old and quickly had to cope with the resounding defeat in the war against Prussia in 1866, the war against France in 1870/71 and the foundation of the German Empire under Prussian supremacy. Contrary to his understanding of absolutist royalty by the grace of God, he had no choice but to follow his cabinet, in the Austro-Prussian War of 1866 as well as other affairs. So what does one do if reality seems bleak? Escape into dreams or fairy tales! Ludwig, who identified himself with the Swan Knight Lohengrin, is not called "Märchenkönig" (ger. "fairy tale king") for nothing.

After visiting the Wartburg, the source of inspiration for the Singers' Hall, Ludwig started building Neuschwanstein Castle in 1869. The gatehouse was completed first in 1872 so he could watch the construction from there. It was to take another eight years until the Palas was completed and four more until the interior was ready to move in. Increasing financial problems lead to a coup: His own cabinet declared him mentally incurable and therefore incapable of governing. What really happened at Lake Starnberg, just three days after his dethronement, is likely to remain a mystery. Because of Ludwig's early death, Neuschwanstein Castle remains unfinished to this day.

Ludwigstor

The Ludwigstor is a classical triumphal arc located in the west of the village. It was built by Fritoeser in September 2013. The arc is based on the Triumphpforte in Innsbruck, which was built 1765 on the occasion of the marriage of Archduke Leopold and the Spanish princess Maria Ludovica.

Related links

Change language
  • Facebook
  • DeviantArt
  • Tumblr
  • Instagram
  • YouTube

Neuschwanstein

Neuschwanstein heißt nicht aus Spaß so. König Ludwig II. höchstpersönlich wirkte durch Palando, um sein berühmtes Schloss ins Königreich Minevaria zu übertragen. Dem Kini zu Ehren ist die U-Bahn-Station besonders prachtvoll und man wird von einem Triumphtor – dem Ludwigstor – begrüßt, wenn man sich dem Dörflein zwischen Gratlingen und Hefenberg von Westen aus nähert.

Schloss Neuschwanstein

Schloss Neuschwanstein ist König Ludwigs II. berühmtes Schloss mitten in den bayerischen Alpen des Allgäus und nun auch auf Minevaria, wobei bei der Replik über 300.000 Marmor-, 20.000 Sandstein- und 40.000 Dachblöcke (Treppen und Stufen) verbaut wurden. Das Original wird jährlich von über 1,3 Mio. Menschen besucht und verfehlte nur knapp die Aufnahme in die Liste der modernen sieben Weltwunder, trotzdem kann man es zu Recht als das Achte Weltwunder sehen.

Um die Entstehungsgeschichte zu verstehen, muss man sich mit König Ludwigs Umständen beschäftigen: So wurde er überraschend bereits mit 18 Jahren bayerischer Monarch und hatte alsbald eine herbe Niederlage im Krieg gegen Preußen in 1866, den Krieg gegen Frankreich in 1870/71 und die darauf folgende Reichsgründung unter preußischer Vormacht zu verkraften. Entgegen seinem Verständnis des absolutistischen Königtums von Gottes Gnaden, hatte er beim Preußisch-österreichischen Krieg 1866 – wie auch bei anderen Angelegenheiten – keine andere Wahl als seinem Kabinett zu folgen. Also was tun wenn einem die Realität trostlos erscheint? Sich in Träume oder Märchen flüchten, denn nicht umsonst wird Ludwig, der sich mit dem Schwanenritter Lohengrin identifizierte, als „Märchenkönig” tituliert.

Nach einem Besuch auf der Wartburg, der Inspirationsquelle für den Sängersaal, begann 1869 der König mit dem Bau Neuschwansteins. Als erstes wurde 1872 das Torhaus vollendet, damit Ludwig den Bau direkt verfolgen konnte. Es sollte aber weitere acht Jahre dauern bis der Palas vollendet war und weitere vier Jahre bis das Innere bezugsbereit war. Aufgrund von immer größeren finanziellen Schwierigkeiten kam es zu einem Staatsstreich seines eigenen Kabinetts gegen ihn. Der König wurde für psychisch unheilbar erklärt und damit auch regierungsunfähig. Was nur drei Tage nach seiner Entthronung tatsächlich am heutigen Starnberger See passierte, wird wohl ewig ein Rätsel bleiben und der Rest ist Mythos... Der frühe Tod führte dazu, dass Neuschwanstein bis heute unvollendet geblieben ist.

Ludwigstor

Das Ludwigstor ist ein klassizistischer Triumphbogen im Westen des Dorfes Neuschwanstein. Es wurde im September 2013 von Fritoeser erbaut. Das Tor ist der Triumphpforte in Innsbruck nachempfunden, eine der bekanntesten Sehenswürdigkeiten der Stadt. Sie wurde 1765 anlässlich der Hochzeit von Erzherzog Leopold und der spanischen Prinzessin Maria Ludovica errichtet.

Weiterführende Links